Bombyx Brass Collective | 11/28/2023



BOMBYX Center for Arts & Equity (130 Pine Street, Florence MA)

Bombyx Brass Collective led by musical director Margaret Reidy will present a varied and elegant program on Tuesday November 28th at Bombyx Center for Arts & Equity beginning at 7pm. The group continues to rotate in new players which join a core collection of BBC musicians dedicated to inclusion while striving for the highest level of musical artistry. This brass & percussion program will feature works by Grieg, Bruckner, Granados, JS Bach, and more. Of special interest will be, "Variations on an Advent Hymn" by Fisher Tull, as well as the pairing of "American Anthem" by Anthony DiLorenzo with, "A Tribute to Ukraine" arranged by Lawrence Kursar. The program will close with the delightful, "Prelude and Fugue for Christmas" written for brass by Simon Willis.

As always, admission to the ensembles’ performances is free of charge, but donations are always gratefully accepted, with all proceeds going to support future programming and advocacy in the community.


November 28, 2023 Program:

Holberg Suite Prelude……..Grieg arr Marlatt

My Lord, What a Morning…...Traditional

Scherzo from Symphony No. 7….. Bruckner arr. Bray

Kingsfold...….Traditional English Folk Song

Wachet Auf………… J.S. Bach arr. Bray

Andaluza from Spanish Dance No. 5…….Granados

– – – BREAK– – –

Variations on an Advent Hymn……..Tull

American Anthem……………..DiLorenzo

A Tribute to the Ukraine……...arr. Kursar

Prelude & Fugue for Christmas…..Willis




Bombyx Brass 2023-2024 Ensemble Members:

Trumpet: Clayton Brester, Tim Donahue, Monte Becker, Carol Bobbin, Will Choe, Josh Thomson, Sheldon Ross, Amanda Metcalfe, Melissa Griffin, Karen Atherton, Dave Edwards

French Horn: Ira Brezinsky, Shelly Brezinsky, Lucy Colwell, Richard Cuoco, Bobbie Hessling, Jody Kinner, Margaret Reidy

Trombone: Tim Atherton, Danielle Bowen, Charles Emery, Scott Pemrick, Joe Sabol, Steve Tilley, Mark Turcotte

Euphonium: David Bussell, Christopher Kempf, Maura Riel

Tuba: Mark Hoover, Stew King, Kathy Marcinek, Brian Williams, Jay Witbeck

Percussion: Andrew Armstrong, Lauren Chiodo, David Choquette, Dustin Patrick, Lucas Reed, Dave Tallarida