Emanuel Ax and Yo-Yo Ma — Pathways from Prague



Tanglewood (297 West St., Lenox, MA 01240)

Internationally acclaimed musicians Emanuel Ax, Pamela Frank, Leonidas Kavakos Antoine Tamestit and Yo-Yo Ma will perform Pathways from Prague, Program 3:

Dvořák — Terzetto in C for two violins and viola, Op. 74
Kaprálová — Two Ritournelles, for cello and piano, Op. 25
Janáček — Fairy Tale, for cello and piano
Dvořák — Piano Quintet No. 2 in A, Op. 81

Internationally acclaimed cellist Yo-yo Ma has grown a multi-faceted career in testament to his enduring belief in culture’s power to generate trust and understanding. Whether performing new or familiar works from the cello repertoire, collaborating with communities and institutions to explore culture’s role in society, or engaging unexpected musical forms, he strives to foster connections that stimulate the imagination and reinforce our humanity.

Along with his work as a performing artist, he partners with communities and institutions from Chicago to Guangzhou to develop programs that champion culture’s power to transform lives and forge a more connected world. Among his many roles, Yo-Yo is as a UN Messenger of Peace, the first artist ever appointed to the World Economic Forum’s board of trustees, and a member of the board of Nia Tero, the US-based nonprofit working in solidarity with Indigenous peoples and movements worldwide.

Emanuel Ax has been performing internationally since he won the first Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Competition in Tel Aviv in 1974. A longtime collaborator with the BSO and a Tanglewood regular, his 2019-2020 season included a European summer festivals tour with the Vienna Philharmonic and long-time collaborative partner Bernard Haitink, an Asian tour with the London Symphony and Sir Simon Rattle and three concerts with regular partners Leonidas Kavakos and Yo-Yo Ma at Carnegie Hall in March 2020.

Get tickets »

Ticket includes admission to 6 p.m. Prelude Concert — tonight with Lucia Lin on violin, Rebecca Gitter on viola, Owen Young on cello and Michael Brown on piano:

Michael Brown — Reflections for piano trio
Brahms Piano Quartet No. 2 in A, Op. 26