Itzhak Perlman performs Unsuk Chin, Bruch



Tanglewood (297 West St., Lenox, MA 01240, Lenox MA)

Dima Slobodeniouk will conduct a concert of works by Unsuk Chin, Bruch and Brahms with internationally acclaimed violinist Itzhak Perlman.

Unsuk Chin — Subito con Forza
Max Bruch — Violin Concerto in G minor
Johannes Brahms — Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68

Unsuk Chin was born in Seoul, studied with Ligeti in Hamburg, and is now resident in Berlin and winner of the 2004 Grawemeyer Award for her Violin Concerto, the 2005 Arnold Schoenberg prize, the 2010 Prince Pierre Foundation Music Award, the 2017 Wihuri Sibelius Prize and the 2018 Kravis Prize. She composes both electronic and acoustic scores.

Get tickets »

Music is modern in language, she says, but lyrical and non-doctrinaire in communicative power. With an acute ear for instrumentation, orchestral colour, and rhythmic imagery, she has works performed worldwide by major orchestras, contemporary music ensembles and interpreters, and championed by conductors from Kent Nagano to Esa-Pekka Salonen, Gustavo Dudamel, Simon Rattle, Markus Stenz, Peter Eötvös, David Robertson, Myung-Whun Chung and George Benjamin, and violinists Christian Tetzlaff, Viviane Hagner and Renaud Capuçon.

Bavarian State Opera has performed her work, and the Berlin Philharmonic, BBC Symphony, Chicago Symphony, Los Angeles Philharmonic, London Philharmonic, New York Philharmonic, Radio France Philharmonic, Montreal Symphony, Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin and others — and contemporary music ensembles have programmed her music, from the Ensemble Intercontemporain to the London Sinfonietta, Klangforum Wien, Asko|Schönberg Ensemble, Ensemble Modern, Arditti Quartet and Kronos Quartet.

Itzhak Perlman, undeniably a reigning virtuoso of the violin, enjoys superstar status rarely afforded a classical musician, the BSO says. Beloved for his charm and humanity as well as his talent, he is treasured by audiences throughout the world who respond not only to his remarkable artistry, but also to his irrepressible joy for making music.

Having performed with every major orchestra and at concert halls around the globe, Perlman has been honored with 16 GRAMMY® Awards, four Emmy Awards, a Kennedy Center Honor, a Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award and a Genesis Prize. Perlman has received multiple distinctions from U.S. Presidents over the years: A Presidential Medal of Freedom, the Nation’s highest civilian honor, by President Obama in 2015, a Kennedy Center Honor in 2003, a National Medal of Arts by President Clinton in 2000, and a Medal of Liberty by President Reagan in 1986.

Though Johannes Brahms already had several works for orchestra behind him when he completed his Symphony No. 1 at age 43, he knew that the genre required a newfound comfort level in writing for the orchestra, the BSO says, and still more significantly a reckoning with his anxiety of following in Beethoven’s footsteps.