Springfield Symphony Orchestra presents Dances Of Spring



Springfield Symphony Hall (34 Court Street, Springfield, MA 01103)

Conductor | Mark Russell Smith

Michael Abels | Liquify
Aaron Copland | Saturday Night Waltz from Rodeo
Gabriela Lena Frank | Coquetos from An Andean Walkabout
Johannes Brahms | Symphony #1

The colorful music of American composer Michael Abels opens our program. *Liquify* captures the shifting moods of a great river with Abels colorful orchestrations and rhythmic verve. Two great composers offer Dance Music — Copland’s *Saturday Night Waltz* and Frank’s *Coquetos* offer elegance and exuberance. Finally, Brahms’ famous first symphony brings us from intense struggle to triumphant sunlight.